Beginning Driving Lessons

Friendly chat, will be moderated if necessary.
LordLaret

Beginning Driving Lessons

Post by LordLaret »

Hello Everyone,

Most of you folk know me here, but I have only now just recently started driving lessons at the age of 38 due to my mum having been taken ill and having to go to Luton and Dunstable for her operation and me having no means to get there except taxis and family members and this motivating me to get behind the wheel and learn. I am currently on my second lesson with Red and doing automatic cause I can't multitask with a clutch / gearstick. Are there any tips on how to build a critically low self esteem / self confidence in oneself? I am still very new to this. Sorry if this is taking up people's time.
"My Profile Signatures Were Crap, So I Got Rid Of Them."

Eaststand

Re: Beginning Driving Lessons

Post by Eaststand »

believe in yourself, man, i find if you can force yourself into the mindset of believing nothing is a particularly big deal, get a worried nervous thought in your head, make a conscious effort to make it go away, theyll stop forming.

Also, driving automatic is really easy, get someone to take you out in their car as well as lessons, itll all click in your head in no time. Its all just practice, man, its not really a skill, its just a simple thing you dont know how to do yet.
Build Back More Betterer

LordLaret

Post by LordLaret »

Eaststand wrote:believe in yourself, man, i find if you can force yourself into the mindset of believing nothing is a particularly big deal, get a worried nervous thought in your head, make a conscious effort to make it go away, theyll stop forming.

Also, driving automatic is really easy, get someone to take you out in their car as well as lessons, itll all click in your head in no time. Its all just practice, man, its not really a skill, its just a simple thing you dont know how to do yet.